Are you being PRODUCTIVE or just being BUSY?

Hi there you Reader and Writing Junkies ….

On this Blog Post, I want to remind you guys to slow down a little bit, just to REFLECT on our path.

Do we stick on the right path or Do we really know WHY do we do the project/business we are struggling with right now?

This notion actually already came into myself a while ago, but it just struck me on the face recently due to some distraction that I got that kept me away from what I should be done. So here’s a few stories that I want to share with you guys, and some tips to tackle down this kindda situation.

The background story was about me in my final exam season. Supposed to be prior the day of test or deadline I should put a larger portion of my attention on my college’s stuff to prepare on my study, but again when we were in defining time of our life, the distraction came. And in my case the distraction was, an essay contest. That was a contest that offered the student like a very HOT experience to explore Dusseldorf, German. Like a monkey see a nuts, my mind went off from my focus and I got distracted by the contest. In short, I spent a lot of times just to think about “What should I write for that contest”.  I ended up being BUSY writing and editing about the content, and guess what it took me off of my PRODUCTIVITY should be because it is not what I am supposed to go. And I did not make it to submit the essay.

You probably think “Hey Dewi, there’s no faulty there, nothings special in your story”, hold it right there, friends. This is why I want to share and said that I got distracted and ended up just being BUSY instead of PRODUCTIVE.

First, I never wanted to go to Dusseldorf, although maybe I want to go there sometime. Second, although it is a promising opportunity but it is not really what I want. I already set my attention into economics, hence I take it very serious to go to my graduate program and “I got off from the jet before it got landed”, I should stand still till the end but I let myself being distracted.

So here’s a few recap for you guys, if you ever found a situation like me where you unconsciously end up in a situation that really consumes your energy, time and brain (your resource) but you don’t know why exactly you’re doing it.

Here’s a few hints that indicate that you’re just being BUSY

*If it is just your personal project

  1. You went crazy and your energy level spikes but instead of built you up the activity is making you overwhelmed
  2. You kept scratching down the coming up idea and it is like a never ending job
  3. When you close your eyes, and being honest to you inner guiding system and ask
  • If I don’t finish this project what would I become?
  • If I finish this project, would it be matters for my personal development
  • Is it important for my soul? Would it fulfill me?

And then if some of those answer was “Mmm Yeaaah, not really” and then you might be able to give yourself a question, why did I do this in the first place and at that point you can constantly make decision is it the right thing to do, are you getting yourself closer to the point that you want to be.

If the answer is yes then congratulation, you are being productive but if you’re hesitate and your inner system whisper that you don’t really need it and it just a sensation of chasing the gold then you’re just trapped in being busy.

So, you’re out there being productive is one of the key that we want to achieve to reach our potential and live the life to the fullest. But be careful, it is necessary to constantly check whether we are being productive or we’re just being busy.

Have a nice Sunday everyone, I wish you nothing but a FULL OF PEACE.

-D.F.A-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

